Rybak on the Facebook-top. Article in Sa.no, July 22nd, 2011

Written by Stian Grythaugen. Photo by Vidar Ruud, ANB. Published 22.7.2011 on www.sa.no.

Link to original article: http://www.sa.no/lokale_nyheter/article5677767.ece

Translated by Marianne Saietz

Alexander Rybak is one of the Grand-Prix-circus´ biggest stars on Facebook.

That shows,  from a ranking, made by the official pages of Eurovision Song Contest.  The webpage has looked at, how popular, previous Grand Prix-participants are on Facebook and ranked them, from the highest number of Facebook-fans and down.  In the final list of 25 names, Alexander Rybak is the only norwegian feature. The 25-year-old, who set a crushing score-record, when he won the international final in Moscow in 2009, ends up on place number 13.

That means, that the «Fairytale»-artist, drops two places on the list from last years ranking.  Alexander Rybak has, at the moment,  276.424 fans on Facebook.

The winner of the ranking is, not surprisingly, the same as last year.  Celine Dion has more than  4,7 million fans – and takes the lead beyond doubt. The canadian world-artist, won the international final in 1988 with the Grand Prix-hit «Ne Partez Pas Sans Moi» –  for Switzerland.

Number two is the turkish rockband maNga, who represented their home-country at the international final in Oslo last year. They ended up on a very strong second-place, which, not surprisingly, has increased the popularity of the band in Europe.

The 3rd place on the podium, in the Facebook-counting, goes to  ABBA. The swedish group, who won Grand Prix, already in 1974, with the immortal “Waterloo”, has more than one million fans on the internet.

The long list of 25 names, contains two other nordic names, besides  Alexander Rybak. The finnish monsterrockers, Lordi, takes the 16th place, while this years swedish artist,  Eric Saade is number 24.

Last name on the list is georgian Sofia Nizharadze – who represented her home-country at  Telenor Arena last year. Her song –  «Shine», was written by norwegian Hanne Sørvaag.

At last years ranking, you had to have more than  25.000 fans, to get into the list. This year, you had to have more, than 111.559 Facebook-fans, to get a place among the 25.

Click this link SE HELE LISTA HER! for article from www.eurovision.tv, written by Jarmo Siim:


The list.

  1. 4,701,382 Celine Dion (winner of the 1988 Eurovision Song Contest),
  2. 1,922,316 maNga (represented Turkey in 2010),
  3. 1,057,155 ABBA (winner of 1974),
  4. 581,770 Blue (represented the United Kingdom in 2011),
  5. 531,404 Lena (won Europe’s favourite TV-show in 2010 and attempted to defend her title in 2011),
  6. 466,003 Arash (Azerbajan, 2009),
  7. 401,221 Homens Da Luta (Portugal, 2011),
  8. 389,557 Sertab Erener (winner in 2003),
  9. 351,922 Tose Proeski (FYR Macedonia, 2004)
  10. 331,941 Mor ve Ötesi (represented Turkey in 2008),
  11. 324,896 Yükset Sadakat (Turkey, 2011),
  12. 324,454 Sakis Rouvas (represented Greece in 2004, 2009),
  13. 276,424 Alexander Rybak (winner in 2009),
  14. 237,106 Zeljko Joksimovic (Serbia & Montenegro, 2004; writer of the 2008 Serbian entry),
  15. 230,024 Dino Merlin (Bosnia and Herzegovina 1999, 2011),
  16. 229,704 Lordi (winner in 2006)
  17. 191,138 Anna Vissi (Greece, 1980, 2006; Cyprus 1982)
  18. 184,183 Severina (Croatia, 2006)
  19. 160,332 Julio Iglesias (Spain, 1970)
  20. 156,458 t.A.T.u (Russia, 2003),
  21. 148,256 Ronan Keating (wrote the song for Denmark in 2009),
  22. 146,150 Lara Fabian (Luxembourg, 1988)
  23. 139,700 Hadise (Turkey, 2009),
  24. 122,992 Eric Saade (Sweden, 2011),
  25. 111,559 Sofia Nizharadze (Georgia, 2010),



4 thoughts on “Rybak on the Facebook-top. Article in Sa.no, July 22nd, 2011”

  1. oh nice ! 🙂 I will translate it to polish and get to our site of fanclub. Thanks Marianne 🙂

  2. No big deal:-)) I just copied the ranking-list from the article and the links were already there:-)). But thanks for believing, I am a hard-working facebookie!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *